Junior Spiders

On Friday, April 8th eir announced the Shortlist for this year’s eir Junior Spiders. The Awards, now in their 7th year, were established to recognise and reward the technological and innovative capabilities of Ireland’s youth.

The awards celebrate the innovative efforts and talents of Irish children and teens who utilise the internet, web design and development, among other skills both for projects in school and in their daily lives.

The talents of previous Junior Spiders winners have continued to garner recognition over the past year with the winners going on to achieve great success. Niamh Scanlon, the 2015 Mega Grand Prix winner has been named the European Union’s Digital Girl of the Year and is set to speak at InspireFest this June. The winner of the 2015 Giga Grand Prix prize, Kieran Horgan, has recently been selected to compete at this year’s All Ireland Programming Olympiad in DCU. While Jonathan White, winner of the 2015 Tera Grand Prix, has just won Best Overall Video at the Youth for Decent Work Awards for his video on safety in the workplace.

Similar to previous years, the Awards are divided into three main age groups:

  • The Mega Spiders (aimed at ages 4-12 years)
  • The Giga Spiders (aimed at ages 13-15 years)
  • The Tera Spiders (aimed at ages 16-19 years)

Each age category is divided further across a range of 18 Awards, as well as each category having a Grand Prix winner to be revealed on the day.

Commenting on eir’s involvement in the Awards is John Anslow, Group Sponsorship eir, “The eir Junior Spiders Awards are a really exciting initiative that celebrates the most enquiring minds and best ideas out there. We’ve forever amazed at the calibre of entries and sheer hard work and creativity that goes into the entries. The fact that they come from some of the youngest and most talented people is really inspiring.This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Monday April 25th from 11:00 – 15:00 in Croke Park Stadium. We are looking forward to the return of RTE’s Aidan Power as our host for the event as well as a range of entertainment for all our attendees. “

This year’s Shortlist includes many Digital Schools of Distinction and also schools who are engaged in the process of becoming Digital Schools of Distinction. Congratulations to all.